Anhui University of Science and Technology

Updated:2024-01-18 10:19 Source:Office of huainan Municipal People's Government Hits:
Font size: L M S print

Anhui University of Science and Technology is a high-level key university with distinctive features in Anhui Province. It is a university gaining joint support from Anhui Province and the Ministry of Emergency Management. It is also a university supported by the basic capacity building project for universities in central and western China and a university implementing the Ministry of Education’s “Excellent Engineer Education and Training Plan”. Huainan Campus covers an area of approximately 3200 mu and Hefei Campus covers an area of 340 mu.

The university was founded in 1945 and shares the same origin with Hefei University of Technology. It is the first university of engineering in Anhui Province. In 1955, the university was upgraded to Hefei Mining College from Huainan Coal Industry Vocational College . In 1956, it moved to Hefei and was renamed Hefei University of Technology in 1958. In 1971,coal-related majors,disciplines,and teachers of some basic courses were reloacated to Huainan, and then Huainan Coal College was established. Afterwards, it went through periods of such as Huainan Mining College and Huainan College of Technology, during which the former East China Coal Medical College and Huainan Chemical Engineering School were successively merged . In 2002, it was renamed Anhui University of Science and Technology. In 2022, Anhui Automobile Industry School was merged into the university.

The university has a high-level teaching staff team with a reasonable structure that consists of full-time and part-time teachers. The university has more than 4500 employees (including affiliated hospital), among which more than 1000 people have senior professional titles, including one academician of the CAE member, 12 national level talents, 33 people enjoying special government subsidies of the State Council, more than 80 provincial and ministerial level talents, and more than 400 high-level experts and scholars serving as part-time professors of the university. The university boasts 2 Huang Danian-like teacher teams, 5 provincial “115” industrial innovation teams, and 8 leading talent teams among the universities of Anhui.

The university has a graduate school, 23 schools (divisions), and an affiliated hospital. It boasts 6 postdoctoral programmes, 6 post-doctoral scientific research stations in first level disciplines, and 34 doctoral programs in second level disciplines, 22 master's programs in first level discipline, 113 master’s programs in second level disciplines, 11 categories of professional masters, and 77 undergraduate enrollment majors. It has one Class I peak discipline in Anhui, five Class III peak disciplines, and three peak cultivation disciplines. In the fifth round of national discipline evaluation, it achieved the highest results among the universities of Anhui, and the safety science and engineering discipline scored A, achieving a zero breakthrough in provincial universities. A system has been formed with engineering as the main body, disciplines of safety, advanced manufacturing, geology and mining, blasting and medicine as the characteristics, and the coordinated development of disciplines of engineering, science, medicine, management, culture, economy, law, and art.

At present, there are over 33000 full-time undergraduate students and over 6500 doctoral and master's students in the university. The university has 20 national first-class major construction programs, 11 certified majors by the Ministry of Education, 6 national characteristic majors, 4 pilot programs of national comprehensive reform, 12 national first-class and high-quality courses, 1 national teaching team, 1 national talent training model innovative experimental zone, 1 national experiment teaching demonstration center, and 5 national engineering practice education centers.

The university continues to expand international cooperation and exchanges, and has established long-term and stable international cooperation relationships with more than 60 universities and research institutions in countries including the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Australia, Poland, Japan, Russia, Ukraine, Pakistan, Singapore and South Korea. There are international students from 29 countries pursuing doctoral and master’s degrees in university.